Spellcast

Spellcast is a short podcast dedicated to talking about the words on the Scripps spelling bee list.

Listen on:

  • Podbean App

Episodes

Monday Apr 27, 2020

Part 2 of our 4-part series on the U.S. Exploring Expedition, in which we talk about Wilkes's exploits in the Antarctic. Episode music: "Sea Space," by Emily A. Sprague "Under Cover," by Wayne Jones

Monday Apr 20, 2020

We made it to 25 episodes! In today's episode, part 1 of 4, we talk about the exploits of the U.S. Ex.Ex.  

Monday Apr 13, 2020

In which Maggie tells us about ancient Egypt.  Post-production edit: Tutankhamen was 13 when he died; he became pharaoh at age 9. Episode music: "Desert Caravan," by Aaron Kenny

Monday Apr 06, 2020

We've had a hard time sticking to our production schedule because it's been a bit chaotic. But we're trying to get back on a roll.  We also have a special guest today to talk about our word! This was our first attempt at remote interviewing. There's work to do but I think it turned out ok.

Monday Mar 30, 2020

In our episode today, we talk about dazzle ships, ships with brightly colored camouflage during World War I. Check out our show notes for more. 

Saturday Mar 28, 2020

In which we talk about birds and architects.

Tuesday Mar 24, 2020

In which we talk about David Glasgow Farragut, Oliver Hazard Perry, and Matthew Calbraith Perry.

Friday Mar 20, 2020

In which we talk about symbols of the United States. Find more show notes at our newly created website!

Tuesday Mar 17, 2020

In which we apply Maggie's home science lesson to our word for the day! Maggie's lesson is taken from National Geographic's online encyclopedia, which you can read here.

Monday Mar 16, 2020

In which we talk astronomy and ships and practice social distancing.

Copyright 2020 All rights reserved.

Podcast Powered By Podbean